Make your own free website on
Academic Sutta NameNotes PSA PlaeVaggaNikayaPTSKeywords
AN.IV.199 Ta.nhaa Sutta The 108 different forms of craving can be divided into two sorts:
1. Eighteen thoughts haunted by craving internal to self
2. Eighteen thoughts haunted by craving external to self.

Together these thoughts of craving add up to 36 which are multiplied by three because they pertain to past, present and future in a way that adds up to a total of 108. These 108 sorts of craving prevent beings from escaping suffering, destruction and rebirth in the cycle of existence.
35/538 Catukanipaata Catuttha Pa.n.naasaka A"nguttara A.ii.

Previous Page | Contents | Next Page