Make your own free website on
Academic Sutta NameNotes PSA PlaeVaggaNikayaPTSKeywords
AN.VII.43 Pa.thama Aggi Sutta The Buddha enumerates the following seven types of fire: 1. the fire of grasping [raaga]; 2. the fire of hatred [dosa]; 3. the fire of ignorance [moha]; 4. the fire of those worthy of veneration [ahuneyyaggi] (representing parents); 5. the fire of the well-practising householder [gahapataagi] (representing the wife, children, servants and retainers); 6. the fire of those worthy of offerings [dakkineyyaggi] (representing the holy men and recluses), and; 7. the wood-fire. 37/111 Sattaka Nipaata, Pa.thamapa.n.naasaka A"nguttara A.iv.

Previous Page | Contents | Next Page