Make your own free website on
Academic Sutta NameNotes PSA PlaeVaggaNikayaPTSKeywords
AN.IV.177 Raahula Sutta The Buddha teaches Raahula to consider the elements:
1. earth;
2. water;
3. fire;
4. air.
. . . seeing that they are not 'me' or the 'self' having revulsion therefore and thereby cleansing one's heart of passion. By beholding these neither as self nor pertaining to self, one will be a monk wo has cut off craving, loosed the bond and by perfect understanding of this conceit will make an end of suffering.
35/421 Catukanipaata Catuttha Pa.n.naasaka A"nguttara A.ii.

Previous Page | Contents | Next Page